Keith Nix Receives RMEL’s Industry Leadership Award

Keith Nix, Vice President of Operations, Texas-New Mexico Power, received a 2022 RMEL Industry 
Leadership Award during RMEL’s 119th Annual Fall Convention on Wednesday, October 12.

Nix Award
The Industry Leadership Award recognizes individuals whose leadership has made contributions that 
have made an impact within their organization. Recipients usually have more than 10 years of 
experience in the industry. These individuals are often active in various industry affiliations, associations 
and/or organizations that serve the electric energy industry.

Keith Nix is the Vice President of Operations at Texas-New Mexico Power (TNMP), headquartered in 
Lewisville, Texas. Prior to that, he served as Vice President of Technical Services and System Reliability 
since 2014. Keith has over 25 years of experience in the utility operations field mainly focused on 
transmission system operations, system protection, management of substation/relay/communications 
field crews and management of all engineering functions. 

Since earning his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from New Mexico State University, Keith 
has filled many technical positions from transmission protection & controls engineering, transmission & 
substation construction, supervision of transmission operations control centers at both PNM Resources
and TNMP as well as numerous other areas of management and engineering.

RMEL also conferred the Distinguished Leadership Award to Mike Hummel, General Manager & Chief 
Executive Officer, SRP. RMEL’s Honorary Life Member Award recipients are Paul Barham, retired, CPS 
Energy; Joel Bladow, retired, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association; Kevin Howard, retired, 
Western Area Power Administration; Pat Pope, retired, Nebraska Public Power District; and Stuart 
Wevik, retired, Black Hills Energy. Also receiving the Industry Leadership Award are Tony Eddleman, 
Director of NERC Reliability Compliance, Nebraska Public Power District; Mike Jones, Senior Director of 
Strategic Risk Management, SRP; Jim Trask, Department Manager – Energy Group, Burns & McDonnell; 
and Troy Whitmore, Vice President & Public Affairs Officer, United Power.

Congratulations to all 2022 RMEL Award Winners and thank you for your dedication to the electric 
energy industry.

The 2023 Awards Program will kick off with the Emerging Leader Awards Nominations early next year. 
More information on the 2023 RMEL Awards Program will be available at soon.

* * *
About RMEL:
RMEL is a not-for-profit energy trade association that has served the electric utility industry with a 
variety of education and networking services since 1903. RMEL’s mission is: Preparing the electric 
energy industry for the future through education and networking. Once known as the Rocky Mountain 
Electrical League, the association officially became RMEL in the 1990s to better reflect a membership 
base that spans the entire country.